Homemade Spanish Chorizo

Emily’s Rating Chris’s Rating
/ 10 8 / 10

I’ve been wanting to try making my own sausage for some time, mostly because it is cool and allows me to use all sorts of kitchen gadgets as well as some hog casings (gross, but cool).

David Tanis had this recipe for chorizo so I gave it a shot – while putting it together, the meat smelled incredible. I am sure this would be good even if I did not end up curing the sausage, but rather if I just cooked it that same day the way you would a normal Italian sausage.

After stuffing the sausage and putting it out to hang, I started reading up on things like botulism and freaked out. After consulting numerous blogs, Becca at Social Table, and the publisher of the cookbook, Emily gave me the confidence not to throw these away despite the scariness of botulism (temporary paralysis and death are on the table), and I am glad we did. This stuff is pretty awesome to eat and make and was a lot of fun.

So far I have used it in Sopa Seca, Eggs, and Chickpeas, and I will be adding it to Kale tonight as well. All in all, a pretty good success and a good learning opportunity.

Chorizo 1

Chorizo 2

Chorizo 3

Dish Homemade Spanish Chorizo
Recipe Source Heart of the Artichoke cookbook
Difficulty 8 / 10
Time to Complete 1 week (~4 hours of active time)
Sides Served
Leftovers?
Lessons Learned Curing your own sausages is scary, but can be done. Prague Powder #1 (curing salt) effectively helps fight botulism as the meat sits at room temperature for a week. My understanding is that the salt partially cooks the meat – you still need to cook the sausage before eating, but you can do so at a lower temperature and for less time than if you were to cook the chorizo right after stuffing
Any Recipe Deviations? Nope
Make Again? Yes
Changes Next Time? I would be interested in trying it without curing it. The curing process is very cool and interesting, but not sure if it adds much in terms of taste or texture. Would want to do a controlled experiment next time.
This entry was posted in Important Lessons, Keepers, Main Dishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

