April Bloomfield’s Chicken Adobo

Emily’s Rating Chris’s Rating
7.5 / 10 6.5 / 10

I’m pretty obsessed with April Bloomfield’s cookbook, even though I have only made a few things out of it. So this was one of the many pages I have had marked to try.

A Girl and her Pig

Overall, I would call this meal a success, but I actually don’t think I would make it again. It was pretty easy to make, which was nice, and the flavor was really good. So this is more of a personal preference thing – April really talks up the “rustic” nature of this dish with the skin-on ginger chunks and small bone-on chicken pieces. While this makes the asthetics pretty awesome, I really did not enjoy the texture. Because she had me chop of the chicken into 2-inch pieces, there were a lot of small bone chips throughout the dish (obviously not ideal). But when you add on the fact that chicken skin is crunch and the ginger chunks are hard, when I bit down, I didn’t know if I was biting bone or biting something I was supposed to bite. This isn’t a huge deal and, again, the flavor was great, but I just don’t think I’d do it again. If I were going to do it again, I would leave the chicken in larger pieces (leg and thigh).

Getting Ready

In the pot

Chicken Adobo

Dish April Bloomfield’s Chicken Adobo
Recipe Source A Girl and her Pig 
Difficulty 4 / 10 – Takes time to cook, but active time is very minimal
Time to Complete ~2 hours
Sides Served Simple Asparagus – Used “How to Cook Everything” – Just roasted at 450 degrees with olive oil and salt and pepper. Very basic. Em and I both like our veggies charred, however, and then 10 minutes we cooked this did not get the job done
Leftovers? Yea – Decent flavor leftover, but the texture issue remains
Lessons Learned While chopping chicken into 2 inch pieces with my cleaver was fun, it ends up resulting in a lot of marrow and bone chips
Any Recipe Deviations? Nope
Make Again? Probably not
Changes Next Time? Don’t chop the chicken into 2 inch peices
This entry was posted in Chicken, Main Dishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

