Chicken Tikka Masala

Emily’s Rating Chris’s Rating
8 / 10 9 / 10

Update from 11/16/14: Made this again but used the seeds from half of the serrano, and used chile de arbol powder instead of cayenne pepper. This was incredible. Probably a 9/10.
IMG_2301

Cook's Illustrated - Chicken Tika Masala

I’ve been wanting to try out homemade Indian food for awhile. Em and I both like Indian food a lot, but we never go to Indian restaurants. I really don’t know why we never made more of an effort to do so in NYC. I’ve heard there is good Indian in Chicago, as well, but I get the sense that we will need to wait on those until we have a car. So in the meantime, that means I need to learn to make Indian food here.

Naturally, I started my quest for Indian at Cook’s Illustrated. They have a number of pretty great looking Indian recipes, and even better, this quest meant that I got to take a trip to The Spice House – my favorite place in Chicago.  $40 in spices later – I was ready to go.

Dish Chicken Tika Masala
Recipe Source Cook’s Illustrated
Difficulty Eh – I’d say about 7/10
Time to Complete About 2 hours
Sides Served Basmati Rice. Bought spinach, but didn’t make it because the Tika was taking so much time
Leftovers? Tons. This calls for 2lbs of chicken, but I used 3, because that is what Dominick’s sold. Just did every ingredient x 1.5, and it worked out great. Easily serves 6-8 people at these levels
Any Recipe Deviations? I did not have cilantro, so did not use it at the end. I’m sure it would be better with it, but not a big deal
Make Again? Definitely
Changes Next Time? None for the recipe. Serve with Naan next time.

Plenty for leftovers

This entry was posted in Chicken, Indian, Keepers, Main Dishes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chicken Tikka Masala

  1. Pingback: Saag Paneer | Lessons from the Kitchen of a Stay-at-Home Husband

Leave a Reply

